Home > My Council > Council News > Change to Political Groups

Change to Political Groups

Date Published: 11 November 2021
Rutland County Council

 There has been a change to the membership of political groups on Rutland County Council following a decision by Councillor Alan Walters, Ward Member for Oakham North East and Cabinet Member for Health, Wellbeing and Adult Care, to leave the Conservative Group and serve as a Non-Aligned Independent.

Cllr Walters confirmed his decision to switch from Conservative to Non-Aligned Independent for personal reasons on Thursday 4 November but will remain one of two Ward Members for Oakham North East.

In light of this change, Council Leader Oliver Hemsley is to consider the future allocation of Cabinet Member responsibilities for the Council’s Health, Wellbeing and Adult Care Portfolio.

In a separate announcement, Councillor Richard Coleman (Non-Aligned Independent) has resigned as a Ward Member for Ryhall and Casterton, and ceased being a councillor effective from Friday 5 November.

As a result, the political groupings on Rutland County Council are now as follows:

Conservative Group: 13 seats

Independent and Green Group: 6 seats

Liberal Democrats: 4 seats

Non-Aligned: 3 seats

Rutland County Council has a total of 27 seats. One seat on the Council is now vacant following the resignation of Cllr Richard Coleman.

For details of your local Rutland County Councillor, please visit: www.rutland.gov.uk.

Was this information helpful?
Was this information helpful?
Was this information helpful?