Home > My Council > Britain's Leading Edge

Britain's Leading Edge

Britain’s Leading Edge is a special interest group representing 12 mainly rural and coastal councils.

This group includes:

Map of Britain's Leading Edge
  • Cornwall Council
  • Cumbria County Council
  • Dorset Council
  • Durham County Council
  • East Riding of Yorkshire Council
  • Herefordshire Council
  • Council of the Isles of Scilly
  • Isle of Wight Council
  • Lincolnshire County Council
  • North Yorkshire County Council
  • Rutland County Council
  • Shropshire Council 

The 16 green areas show on the map above represent mainly or largely rural areas without a major city, which includes the 12 Leading Edge member councils.

To unlock the potential of Britain’s Leading Edge, the next Government must redress a systemic bias against rural areas without major cities. 

Together, areas included within Britain’s Leading Edge are home to some six million people and cover nearly half of England.

This special interest group has been formed to argue the case for fairer funding and equality of consideration in social and economic support in all areas of the country.

Read the full prospectus with more information about Britain's Leading Edge.

Britain's Leading Edge

Was this information helpful?
Was this information helpful?
Was this information helpful?